In order for you to drive your vehicle legally, your vehicle registration must be renewed every year or two depending on the term of your most recent registration. At In & Out MVD, we understand your time is valuable and our MVD Agents are always readily available to assist you with this simple transaction quickly so you can get back on the road in no time. Save time by calling us today to verify you have everything you need to go “In & Out”! You don’t ever need to make an appointment for this simple transaction and can simply walk-in any time during our normal business hours.
The most common vehicles that must be registered in New Mexico generally include:
- Passenger Vehicles (Cars, SUV’s and Minivans)
- Recreational Vehicles (Motor-Homes, Travel Trailers, Popup/Fifth-wheel Trailers)
- Utility Trailers
- Off-Highway Vehicles (ATV’s, UTV’s or Snowmobiles)
To renew your vehicle registration, you will need the following:
- Last eight (8) of the VIN or Plate Number (Any document with this information to help the MVD Agent pull up the correct vehicle record)
- One (1) proof of identity (ID or Driver’s License)
- One (1) proof of current insurance (Except for Trailers and Off-Highway Vehicles)
Note: Most of the time, the New Mexico MVD system already has your insurance on record, however, it is advised that you bring proof of insurance anyway in the event our system needs to be updated.
- Emission Test (If it applies)
Emission Testing Information:
If you are a Bernalillo County resident and are renewing your vehicle registration, our MVD system will automatically check the air care database for your vehicle’s compliance to verify if an Emission Test is needed for your renewal this year. Emission Tests are good for 1 or 2 years, depending on the type of vehicle you own. Vehicles that do not require an Emission Test are:
- New vehicles purchased from a dealership or manufacturer, in the original owner’s possession, for 4 years following initial registration with the MVD
- Dedicated electric vehicles
- Diesel vehicles
- Vehicles that are only used for legally sanctioned competition
- Farm equipment
- Vehicles that are not operated on public streets and highways
- Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 lbs. or more
If you live outside of the Bernalillo County area, you are not required to provide an Emission Test, unless you drive into Bernalillo County at least 60 days in a year. You may contact us before your visit if you are unsure if your vehicle is due for an Emission Test this year to avoid a 2nd trip. Visit the City of Albuquerque’s Air Quality website HERE for additional information regarding Emission Testing.
Late Registration Penalty Fees:
Late 30 Days or less: You must pay a $10.00 penalty fee in addition to the cost of your Registration Renewal fee
Late more than 30 Days: You must pay a penalty equal to 75% of your registration fee in addition to the cost of your Registration Renewal fee
Important Information for new residents:
If you recently moved to New Mexico from another state and wish to renew your registration, you must transfer your vehicle title to a New Mexico title first. Click HERE for information on Title Transfer & Registration (For new residents in New Mexico).
We are always just a call away!
If you have any questions or concerns regarding Registration renewals, please do not hesitate to call us. We understand some steps or requirements may be confusing but don’t worry, In & Out MVD is always just a call away to promptly answer any questions you may have. We are committed to giving you the best MVD customer service experience in New Mexico and would love the opportunity to serve you and earn your business. Visit or call us today, we are here for YOU!